By the sea side…

By the sea side on a plank I sit,

The sun turning the ambience slightly brighten as it drowns.

The shimmering sea moves here and there,

As free as air, it has no bounds!

Whereas my life is a close-packed cage,

The place in which, I’ve got no space.

I dream to be the open sea!

No boundaries, which I have in the life with me…

I wonder hard what makes this happen,

Thinking and thinking, as the sun goes down.

I watch the twinkling stars go bright,

My tears roll over in that starlight.

I hate the dark, I close my eyes,

And hear the crashing waves nearby.

I feel a hand on my shoulder then,

It took my hand and told me there…

‘Come on! Let us go… There is no worrying now!’

And there I went, I do not know how…

At that moment I felt I am the sea,

No stops, no bounds, who is always free…

Ruqaiya Lokhand.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “By the sea side…

  1. Sarah Ezzi

    First…. Thanks for uploading your blog after approximately 15 days! :p
    Coming to your poem:
    Wow! Beautiful! I can feel every atom of this poem! Well done! 😀

  2. Thanks a lot sarah! 🙂 yeah i know long time! 😛 ur remark means a lot to me.. 🙂
    Ruqaiya

  3. Very well written Miss. Poet. 😉
    -Sarrah

  4. Rabab Dawson

    excellent. Keep it up!
    -Rabab.

  5. usuffyy

    loved it 🙂 u proved to be a good artist though 😉

    keep writing !

  6. Beautiful. You’re never alone. Ever.

  7. Thank you very much sarrah! 🙂 thanks for the pic! 😀
    Thank u rabab for ur feedback!
    Yusuf thank u once agn! yeah sure thing ! 🙂
    N lorna tht was very sweet of u.. ur comments r priceless! 🙂
    Ruqaiya

  8. Maryam

    Ruqaiya, like i said when I had read the first draft, the rhythm is great. The thought is deep and said so effortlessly. Poetry requires an inbuilt voice and you are gifted to have that. Keep writing, Apprentices, dears. It is a release of all your thoughts and dilemmas which you are bound to experience especially in your youth.
    Always here for you all.
    Maryam

  9. Thank you maryam bhen! I always await for ur reply! 🙂 Its a gift that ur here for me ! 🙂
    Ruqaiya

  10. Ohh my!ohh myy!! Already so many feedbacks given!?:p
    Well to my comment i would just say that while reading your first draft of this poem and the last one which is this-i just could only picture myself sitting there near the sea alone and mirthless when the dearest of all my friends comes to tell me that i’m not alone! while reading the last verse i had ecstasy filled because i knew she has come!;)

    Greattttt workk!! you make my inner-voice speakk lokkhiii!! love you!:-)
    Maria

  11. Thank u very much maria! It means a lot to me ! 🙂
    Ruqaiya

  12. Fatima Dawson

    beautifully written..:)

  13. thank you very much! 🙂
    Ruqaiya

  14. Written with a soothing flow. 🙂
    What connection do you do make with: freedom – loneliness – friend? (the three aspects as 1 theme)

  15. thank you very much for your feedback! 🙂
    Ruqaiya

  16. Arwa Sh Khuzaima

    Your poetry was amazing Ruqaiyah. The cadence, rhythm, imagery, sweep with which you’ve carefully put your thoughts into words swept me on to the shores of the island! It was lovely reading your poem!

I'd love to know what you think about this post!

Blog at WordPress.com.

