The Little Pleasures of Life

It was a mid-Autumn Tuesday afternoon; we were heading back to Karachi from Hyderabad after celebrating Eid with my grandparents and cousins. We drove through the jammed streets & a few miles later reached the elongated road which led us to the final leg of our journey.

I sat beside the window with the addiction flowing through the earphones in my ears. Enjoying the pleasant weather, I tuned into the broadcasting station of nature outside the window, in which Allah spoke to me about his wonderful creations.


The sight was breath-taking! As I looked up, I saw the never ending sky filled with clouds which looked like white and grey cotton candies.


The sunshine beautifully peeped through the clouds and scattered brightness all over. And the cool breeze added flavor to the weather. Aah! How soothing it felt.

Eventually, the colors in the sky started turning dark and guess what! I saw a rainbow hidden in those soft clouds! It was the first rainbow I ever saw in my life.

I was thrilled by the colorful sky & hurriedly took my ‘dear’ camera out from my backpack and didn’t miss a chance to capture the fascinating sight. As it’s said, art is more than making something to look at. It is enjoying yourself and what you feel when you make it. And seriously! The photographs were worth it.

Well, I didn’t just enjoy that broadcasting station but also just by tuning in, he taught me to be grateful of the little pleasures which add flavor to living. Also, that life is full of beauty. Notice it. Notice the butterfly, the small child, and the smiling faces. Smell the rain, and feel the breeze. Life is to be lived to its optimum!

-Sarrah Mustafa Malir

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 30 Comments

Post navigation

30 thoughts on “The Little Pleasures of Life

  1. Very well said partner!
    Loved your work ALWAYS! 🙂
    Ruqaiya

  2. 🙂
    Its a little different one. I like it.

  3. ammar

    Dear Sarrah where is the Dear snap from your dear camera? No doubt the expression is mind soothing.

  4. Maryam

    Sarah, The way you have blossomed as a writer is incredible. The choice of words, the structure of sentences…perfect! I especially relished the end! The length of the piece is also apt… just right! It doesn’t drone and conveys a worthy message!
    Well done dear! The photography’s wonderful too!
    Keep Writing!
    Maryam

    • Dearest Maryam ben, what ever little good I do today is all because you’ve been a great inspiration, a mentor, a motivator and a dear friend.
      What ever I do cannot really repay you for what you’ve done for me so far.
      And I’m glad the photographs appealed.
      Thank you for everything.
      Love, Sarrah.

  5. Sarah Ezzi

    Mmmmm I don’t know why am I commenting after being so much exhausted? :p
    Maybe your ‘creative writing’ has refreshed me! And your photography is breathtaking as ever! Keep it up! 🙂

  6. Arwa Sh Khuzaima

    Sarrah, your piece of writing is so alluring coz your art of capturing nature at its best complements your words so completely. It is indeed a pleasure to read your work!

    • Arwa ben, thank you for all the compliments you give me, regarding my photography and writing.
      It feels good when someone appreciates your work. (:
      Thanks again!
      -Sarrah

  7. Glorious pictures. You taught me a good lesson: always carry my camera! I love clouds. Simply love them.

    • Thank you Lorna. I love clouds(nature) too!
      I usually carry my camera every where which not just records my memories but also, for me, it’s a good thing to pass time with. (:
      -Sarrah

  8. Thanks for this beautiful journey.

  9. I was impressed and felt great about two parts of your work:

    1. The expression: “tuned into the broadcasting station of nature outside the window” – expressing how human soul is quenched through non-materialistic aspects from materialistic ideas.

    2. The lesson you learned and are propagating.

    Keep it up. 🙂

  10. Fatima Dawson

    waow..
    i enjoyed ur essay..
    wel done..

  11. Rabab Dawson

    very amazingly and beautifully expressed ur journey.
    coming to photography,its wonderfully captured! Always love it Sarrah! 🙂
    -Rabab

  12. Aw, this was a very nice post. In thought I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and in no way appear to get something done.

  13. Rabab Dawson

    Haha thankyou! 🙂

  14. Khadija Hasnain

    nyc!! =)

  15. nYc =)

  16. munira

    Nych..:)

I'd love to know what you think about this post!

Blog at WordPress.com.

