Imran! Imran! Imran!

 

At the very moment I feel like shouting ‘Imran! Imran! Imran!’ I hold inside a feeling of freedom, that Allah has answered my prayers. I have broken the chains that held me inside a cage. My voice doesn’t tremble, and a mood of ecstasy and excitement has filled the air. A few tears roll down my cheeks (I am sort of emotional :P), and my hands are tightly bind together.

I wish I could be there near Mazar-e-Quaid and listen to that inspiring voice who spoke what his heart said. And shout his name out loud which I couldn’t do at home as my parents wouldn’t allow, but in their hearts even they would like the passion of patriotism I have for my homeland.

Imran Khan is a former cricketer and captain of the international team of Pakistan (as you all know). Well, these days he is an active politician and the chair-man of his party ‘Pakistan Tehreek-e- Insaaf’-PTI (the moment of justice).

He was born in Lahore, where he studied at Cathedral School and in England at Royal Grammar School Worcester from where he excelled in cricket and at Aitcheson College. But his ambitions were even in politics from the beginning as he graduated with a second-class degree in Politics and a third degree in Economics from Keble College Oxford.

In the early 1970s he played cricket with his home teams in Lahore then in Oxford University- Worcestershire-PIA- New South Wales and then Sussex. With his cricket career, he became a fast bowler and reached the peak of his powers in 1982. Khan achieved the all-rounder’s triple (securing 3000 runs and 300 wickets) in 75 Tests and also established as having the second highest all-time batting average of 61.86 for a Test batsman playing at position 6 of the batting order.

Well, then he played his last Test match with Sri Lanka and last ODI (one day international)  the historic 1992 World Cup final against England at Melbourne, Australia.

In his speech he stated this:  ‘When I was young I said that ‘I will become a cricketer’, people disagreed to my statement, and then eventually I became one. I said I would become an all-rounder, again everyone disagreed that it was not possible, and then I proved myself right. Then I told about the captaincy and showed it to the world by making it happen, and I also made a good cricket team for Pakistan. I said then, that I will win the world cup, and in 1992 I won the Crystal Ball World Cup trophy.’ (And after his dream came true he left the team.)

‘Then, I planned on making a hospital that would be free of charge especially for the people who are suffering through Cancer and called 22 doctors, only 2 agreed that it could happen. And in 1994 ‘again’ I showed it to the world about the word that I had made.’ And he named it after his mother Shaukat Khanum Memorial Cancer Hospital & Research Centre, it is in Lahore and it is funded predominantly from the donations of friends and well-wishers from around the country and across the world.

 On December 25th, 2011 on Father of the Nation’s birth anniversary and near his mausoleum only, he organized a public gathering at Bagh-e-Jinnah. Where, tens of thousands of Pakistani’s gathered to attend it. Again he pledges here ‘I will do what Quaid-e-Azam wanted to do and he wanted to make Pakistan a prosperous state’. Imran Khan said: “I promise on Quaid-e-Azam’s birth anniversary that I will do what Quaid-e-Azam wanted to do.” He gave a speech of nothing more than 4-mins, but there was rage in his voice, and said that if he gets his chance he will end the corruption in 90 days.

Even if some people ‘again’ disagree to what he says, I have a feeling that there will be peace and justice in my country and that this man ‘will’ complete his promise to Pak Sar Zameen (Pakistan) and its native people.

As Quaid-e-Azam Mohammad Ali Jinnah said:

Unity-Faith-Discipline

In his accordance PTI’s ideology is based on:

Justice-Humanity-Self Esteem

Way to go Imran! Way to go! 🙂

Ruqaiya Lokhand.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 33 Comments

Post navigation

33 thoughts on “Imran! Imran! Imran!

  1. Shamuil

    Nice piece of writing Ruqayya!! And good work Class VIII. Why don’t you forward your writeups for publishing in Young World or other magazines!! Do keep it up:))

  2. Thank you very Shamuil janab 🙂 well we are in class IX now. 🙂 and yes i would send it for young world soon.
    Ruqaiya.

  3. Al Fursato tamurro marras sahab….. Well, “time fleets like clouds”, I admire the way you spend your winter break in enjoying and relishing it with your HOBBY (writing passion). Keep it up!!!
    By the way are you Imrans fan through cricket or politics????

  4. Thank you very much janab for appreciating my effort. Im his fan for his promises he has made and kept and he being a philanthropist. 🙂
    As I love watching cricket, and so does my family I’m his fan in every way. I just love the passion he has for his homeland. 🙂
    Ruqaiya.

  5. Ruqaaaaiiiiyyyaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!LOVEEDDDDD ittttt!!!
    one of my friends is crazy about imran khan and he’ll kiss u after he reads itt! 😛
    Sooo verryy apptt! loveedd itt!!:):-D
    Mariaa

  6. Well written. 🙂
    You could have described his political life and contemporary position more than cricket. Nevertheless, an inspiring write-up! 🙂

  7. Thank you very much Maria! hehehe lol 😛 well, thank you salman bhai. Hmm, well i just felt like writing sumthng abt him i was rly desperate to write 😛
    Ruqaiya.

  8. Ruqaiya,
    So glad you wrote about this. Imran Khan… a name synonymous with my growing up days and my passion for cricket (courtesy of my father) This man was an exceptional cricketer and an inspirational leader, and the entire nation joins you in praying that he turns out to be the saviour we so desperately need. Let us cast cynicism aside; let us be hopeful!
    Well done Ruqaiya! Keep writing. You all make us so proud!
    Maryam

  9. Thank you very much Maryam bhen. To tell you truly why I write anything is because of your lovely comments each time i show you sumthng new. I hope they just never end…
    And yes he is an exceptional person very much capable of saving our country. I just really hope he gets his chance.
    Love, Ruqaiya 🙂

  10. Rabab Dawson

    ruqaiyahhh!! i agree with each and every point of yours..
    and yes! What ever Imran khan says he does it.
    Hope this time also he show every one that he can do according to what he said.:)
    loved it! 🙂
    Rabab.

  11. usuffyy

    Im a fan of Imran khan and im quite inspired from this Man !
    Very well written , i hope IMRAN KHAN reads your article 😀
    keep writing 🙂

  12. Awwwnnn Thank you SOOOOOOOOO much 🙂 I wish too. even mom said me this. thank you thank you thank you veryyyyyy much! 🙂
    Ruqaiya.

  13. Sarah Ezzi

    Yo Ruqaiyaaa!! Trust me I never take interest in politics but I am inspired by your script on Imran, I’ll make sure not miss these kind of events again!! You know I truly I haven’t seen such a patriotic student like you!
    Keep writing and inspiring! 🙂

  14. Thanks a lot Sarah! And i LOVED your comment really! i really wish i could do something, u dnt knw this bt i hv always liked to be the super hero thing 😛 and this part for the country i would love to do anything, thank you again sarah! 🙂
    I hope so… 🙂
    Ruqaiya.

  15. Ruqaiyaaa! I second Ezzi. Imran Khan certainly IS an exceptional man.
    Very informative and especially LOVE the end.
    Keep up the good work.

    Love,
    Sarrah

  16. Thank you Sarrah! 🙂
    Ruqaiya.

  17. Alefiyah Rao

    Wow, Ruqaiyah… I cant believe my eyes! This is surely one of your best pieces. Although i dont get involved with poliics but i really loved the effort. And especially the END! Simply, loved it!! 🙂
    Alefiyah.

  18. Ibrahim Joriawala

    IMRAN BHAI ZINDABAD!!!!!!! ITWAS SERIOUSLY OWSUM!!!! WELL WRITTEN…..

  19. Alif, i wanted u to read it so desperately, thanks a lot ! 😀
    And ibrahim thank you veryy much surely, Imran bhai Zindabad! 😉 🙂

  20. Huzefa Hazari

    Ruqaiya i loved it so much… i m also a fan of Imran Khan… 🙂
    Perfectly written

  21. Thanks Huzzi! 😀
    Ruqaiya.

  22. Ruqaiya, atleast you got the guys (Attention: ibrahim and Huzefa) commenting on the blog:)

    How lovely of you to say that you write for my response; My inbox waits for the ‘writers apprentices’ update. I hope you all post something everyday–for a writer/poet, every experience in life is visible with new colours; he/she sees it like no other, or in a different perspective than others, so there is an opportunity to feel and write on even the most seemingly mundane things.
    Keep writing my dears;

    You all are, and always will be, the most special.
    Yours,
    Maryam

  23. I hope, that through out my life, no wonder where I might be. I don’t want to loose you. When we had discussions, about we will be after school, I always thought i can think later about it. But i know there will be one time I won’t meet Maryam ben Sadri wala everyday, but at least ‘again’… I hate thinking about it, but that’s how life is. Even your one word makes me happy… 🙂
    Yours,
    Ruqaiya.

  24. Love you darling! I’m always there for you!
    Maryam

  25. I really enjoyed reading it!! Indeed from now I am also a fan of Imran Khan. 🙂

  26. Ohh thank you fatema apa! 🙂
    Ruqaiya.

  27. Murtaza Haidry

    I started reading that one piece and it got me reading and reading one after another.. Amazing! Even though cricket’s not that exciting fr me.

  28. musti mandzz

    imran zindabad…:) wel written..:)

I'd love to know what you think about this post!

Blog at WordPress.com.

