Been an aunt when you were just 5?

I know I know, it seems pretty weird and you must be thinking that I’m just faking it or it is just another dream of mine. But, NO! It’s real! I was only five when I became an aunt and when I was pre-mature (so obvious!).

So, well! This is because of the huge age difference between me and my sister. She is 17 years older than me and I know it’s hard to believe but it’s true. In spite of the age difference, nothing lacks in our relationship. Since 4 is the age when you actually get a good memory of things going on and that was when my Aapa (sister) got married. But because of my frequent stays at her home we never had a communing problem. And we even shared many qualities.

But this was not the thing I wanted to talk about. The thing is me being an aunt when I’m five! Ohh-brother! I had not even become a teenager and it had happened so early!

A new comer came into our family, my aapa’s first child, a niece to me. She became the center of attention! Ohh no! How could this be? Just a day before everyone cared to see me, but now no one gives even a look at me! How rude!

This was it I thought. The end of everything! No one cares whose Ruqaiya or where is she. Everyone cares about the new-born, who has entered in this world only a few days ago, with her so-called funny attempts to move or to cry aloud to grab the attention. With a frown I used to turn around.

Yet, it was not the end but a new beginning of my life! When I looked at the small little being, with her soft hands and fingers which gripped my fingers so tightly, I no longer could stop smiling at her. I was not allowed to kiss her on the cheeks (germs, I tell you!), but I used peck her on her cheeks when no one would look around, there was an invisible attraction that pulled me towards her. That’s what the evil baby Fatima did. πŸ˜›

As she grew, for play times we used to be always together. Being the elder one I would be bossing around sometimes and would even annoy her. But then that ‘aunt responsibility’ would prick me, that even though I’m young, I’m an aunt too. And love was the thing that grew an impossible attachment between me and Fatima!

I was quite astonished by her clever thinking and a genius mind! And even now I am (after all I am her aunt, but jokes apart :P), she made a change in my life. She was my all-time pal! More than she being a niece to me, we were like sisters. I saw my aapa’s face in her!

I never liked to share things which are my favorites. But when she would be around, I would, by reluctance give her and be amused when she would kiss me on my cheek and sit with me enjoying the same thing. She is the reason for so many virtuous habits I’ve had, and this was one of it. Thought it might seem lame to you but it takes a lot to do that!

I was stupid that I did not want you in the beginning. But now I know your value. You’re the reason I act so mature and give whole-heartedly anything. You have been my best friend from my childhood, still are and always will be.

Happy Belated Birthday Fatima! May you always be happy, achieve great things and have a blessed life! I want to tell you how much you mean to me for sharing everything with me even all the stupid laughs at some lame joke and the pieces of your pastries. I am so glad I had you with me. I needed you!

I can tell you surely, even though she just turned 11 two days back (as it was her birthday), she is a lot smarter than I am. And she can do a lot of things that I can’t. She has made me learn life’s basic morals and made me so much more than that selfish Ruqaiya. I wish to have a heart as big as hers. Because even now when she has something that I have wanted so much (like pastry), she would come to me and say ‘Ruqaiya khala pehle aap lo (first you have it)’. And I would smile at her from ear to ear and take a small bite from it.

Yours,

Ruqaiya Khala.

Dated : 22 January 2012.


Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Been an aunt when you were just 5?

  1. Family relationships are often difficult to sort out. Your situation does seem odd, but I’m sure anything can be “normal” if you want it to be. πŸ™‚

  2. ruqaiya !! u never mentioned u r 17 years younger than ur sis…. i thought maybe 10 or something…..
    u have elaborated ur bhanji and ur feelings so well…. i love the way u mention lots of things on just one topic…. being an aunt, birthday and the doings…
    Keep writting. πŸ™‚
    Huzefa Hazari

  3. Ohh yes Lorna! It was way odd! But we got along with each other. πŸ™‚ and yes its on you how u take the change. Thank you Lorna! πŸ™‚
    And Huzefa!I’ve told u tht my sis is 17 yrs elder than me. Khair thank you very much! πŸ™‚ I hope so too! πŸ™‚

  4. Lokhaandd!! I have seen you with your niece and I perfectly know how much you enjoy their company! Even when you come and tell stories about your baby nephew i enjoy them all!
    Loved it partner!
    Maria

  5. This is delightful Ruqaiya. I can completely imagine you as this young, graceful aunt whom Fatima looks up to. You are right; some people make us a better person by just existing. We are blessed to have them in our lives.
    Keep writing
    Maryam

  6. Arwa Sh Khuzaima

    An aunt is a gift whose worth cannot be measured except by the heart, and the joys of the aunt and niece relationship are multiplied a thousand folds when you are friends, confidants and pals!
    Ruqaiyah you and Fatema are certainly lucky to have each other!

  7. I also personally love being around with my cousin and brother. Their clever retorts and pranks bring a big smile to my face-then, that’s another article in itself.
    Children’s company are ‘sometimes’ a pleasure to have. (:

    Loved it! (:
    -Sarrah

  8. Maryam bhen and Arwa bhen, thank you very much! πŸ™‚ well, yes it was quite a different experience for me but still as im the youngest among my siblings im the most ‘ladli’ you may call. And fatima she means a lot to me since i hv spent my childhood with her. Thank you maria and sarrah for your wonderful comments! πŸ™‚
    Ruqaiya.

  9. Sarah Munawar

    Ruqaiya! I really cant believe that you were selfish except when it’s “the perk mamla” πŸ˜›
    Now when I cant help about that fact so I just thank Fatima for “upbringing” a mature Ruqaiya! πŸ˜›

  10. even the perk thing its because of her. i think u get much more thn giving sumthng to make someone happy. so its all about giving whole-heartedly! πŸ™‚ thank you sarah! πŸ™‚
    Ruqaiya.

  11. Rabab Dawson

    very well written ruqz…
    described so beautifully about ur bhanji and every point.. πŸ™‚
    Rabab

  12. thank you rabab πŸ™‚
    Ruqaiya

  13. ibrahim

    hey ruqaiya i was also a uncle at the age of 9………….. and i understand how dificult it is to be an uncle bcoz ther are several responsblities towards an uncle apart frm ths very well written!!!

  14. thank you ibrahim for your response. i knew u could relate to it πŸ™‚
    Ruqaiya

I'd love to know what you think about this post!

Blog at WordPress.com.

