Geo tou aisay!


“Saaarrraaaahhhh, take a breath and at least let me get me out of the kitchen!” my mother added.
“Noooo ami, listen to me first! You know then what happened…(and I continued with my story)”

Today, as per routine, I returned from school and began filling my mother with my tales without pausing and she listened to me imperturbably like she always does (she knows I can’t remain bottled up with feelings). I went on emptying myself but leaving all her work behind, she sat calmly with interest, gave me good advices, smiled and laughed at intervals on my escapades and tried to make me learn from the mistakes I made.

These brief conversations we have every day, never fail to content me. Sometimes I wonder what would I do without my loved ones, who are unexpectedly always there to listen. Seriously, I would nearly faint out of suffocation if I was unheard or unexpressed!
Indeed, it’s a gift to have people around us with whom we can toss around ideas, dreams, share incidents, feelings & dispel each others fears.

According to me, Silence always kills me from inside. I’d rather remain over said than unsaid. I believe in the power of expression, in the power of words. I believe in intense passion and openness. So, I feel that it’s very IMPORTANT for an individual to be expressive.

Why expressive?

  • Being expressive helps you in remaining ebullient in your personality.
  • It gives you ‘wings’- it makes you feel high and tension free-it makes you feel lighter.
  • People value you more. They enjoy your company.
  • It helps you in self development- And makes you realize your own strengths and short comings.
  • Resolving misunderstandings and building in strong relationships- Expression plays a very important part in that, I tell you!

Finding out the best way for us to express yourself can be rewarding. It is not always important for us to possess speaking power. You can do it in anyway.
In YOUR way!

I personally express myself according to my fluctuating mood. I write when I overflow with feelings and am unable to hold them at bay. When words seem less, I use my photography skills to express daily life in an extraordinary way. I go sporting when I feel too enthusiastic. That lets me express myself in a physical way. When I feel creative, I spill colors on paper. And then sometimes, when I feel the crazy acid boiling within me, I sing aloud in the shower! It sometimes drains out all the stress (I shouldn’t have mentioned this) 😛

So you see? There are so many ways in which we can express ourselves. We just need to be honest, genuine, fearless & confident. But, lets not forget that we do need to express ourselves ‘but’ in an appropriate manner. Our surrounding, our environment does matter a lot. Of course, you cannot jump and hoot with excitement in a very formal situation but yes you can cheer and chill in an informal gathering. So, we do need to realize the importance of ‘the right time’….
But hey? While taking care of the right time, please don’t forget to vent out! Because, expressing is nothing but saying and doing what your heart tells you to.

So, stand up and heave your hearts out amigos!
Cheers to Expressionism!

-Sarrah Mustafa Malir


Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Geo tou aisay!

  1. Great piece of writing. I never thought about being expressive up to this extent. Khair all in all it was a pleasure to read this wonderful post.. 🙂
    Keep writing Sarrah! 🙂

  2. musti mandzz

    geo toh aisay..!:) great piece of writting..:)

  3. Fatima Raziuddin

    Good job !!!!! One thing I found in my life is expressing my thoughts and doubts helps me to understand and learn. I am still learning everyday of my life from everybody. I am not ashamed to say, I will be learning and learning from others till the day I leave this world.

    • Learning is a life long process, I agree. There’s nothing to be ashamed about it.. Infact, it’s fun to learn with/from people around you.
      Thank you! (:
      -Sarrah

  4. – Yeah! You are right. It makes you feel lighter.
    Secondly, I think mentioning the difference between expressing thoughts and expressing feelings – was a must. I once concluded that feelings and thoughts are different, but also are one and the same. They are like the head and tail of a coin. We react to events with both thoughts and feelings. Feelings are emotions, and sensations, and they are different from thoughts and beliefs. When difficult feelings are expressed, the sharp edges are dulled, and it is easier to release or let go of the bad feeling. If we only express our beliefs about the event and not the feelings the bad feelings linger and are often harder to release.
    Well written. 🙂

    • Hussain, glad to see such a detailed input!… 😀 Thank you for that!
      You brought an interesting aspect-thoughts & feelings. Which is mind over matter. Our heart and mind are connected. Sometimes the mind rules over the heart and vice versa. The word ‘expressing’ is itself a big picture. You can express ‘anything’- your thoughts, your feelings, your opinions, anything!
      -Sarrah

  5. Huz Hazari

    Good job sarrah…. great work
    Keep writing..

  6. Sarah Munawar

    SaRRah! Expressions and being expressive is such a wide topic! I agree, every individual has a way to express themselves every time or else once in a blue moon the balloon inside has to burst out.
    Keep expressing yourself fellow writer! 🙂

  7. Rabab Dawson

    Hahaha… the same happens with me… i reach home and start my tales, my mother sits at one place,keeping her work aside and listens to me carefully.
    Well comming to your article,its Wonderfully written.
    Loved it! 🙂
    Rabab.

  8. Great Post! Well written. There is a great flow and appropriate use of words. The topic is also interesting.

    Expression–can be through words and silence, body language and facial nuances. But there is a thin line between being expressive and honest and being blunt and disregarding others feelings. As one grows older one realizes that.

    Those who are truly eloquent are very conscious about the feedback they receive when they communicate and express.
    Maryam

    • Thank you Maryam ben! (:
      I agree, it can be in anyway. I just feel too strong about it. We’ll discuss this sometime.
      Love and prayers always,
      Sarrah

  9. Sarrah, who would understand your urgency to express then a fellow apprentice. 🙂
    Love the way you’ve tried to picture the whole expressing thing.
    Plus happy to see you come back from a loonnngg vacation dude! 😉

    Maria

  10. Loved it Sarrah,
    Ur v creative n lucky to b so expressive too
    enjoy n make the most of it,
    Love,
    Xeynab

    • Ok now, Xeynab apa, this is the ‘second appreciation’ of yours on one of my posts and i am truly glad to have your input. ((:
      Thank you! (:
      Regards,
      Sarrah

  11. amatullah zoaib

    well written! keep it up!!:)

  12. cool sarrah aaawsomee =D

  13. zainab bhanpur

    WELL WRIITEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'd love to know what you think about this post!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

