Navratan.

After school got over, I always felt that you can’t let go of those people you knew for your entire life. Well, it’s true, you can never let go of those people, but you ought to meet new people in life and get along with them, that’s how life is.

Coming to Aga Khan Higher Secondary School, I came into an entirely different environment. At school, I met people from my own community but now I got to know people from other communities as well. At first I didn’t know how to respond, there was no hesitancy in means of shyness of anything, but I felt unsure about what I should say; not knowing what they would think about me. With time, I got close to them; and, they to me. I gradually learned that the thin line that I had made between me and them, had slowly vanished into the air, and in no time we had become a crazy bunch of people.

I would never compare my friends, from those who were in school and now in college, but, I know I’m very fortunate in finding good friends here too. So, I call this group of nine crazy people (which includes me) as Navratan.

‘Navratan’ was a term applied to a group of nine extraordinary people in an emperor’s court in India. Some well-known groups are in the Raaj Sabha (court) of King Janaka, Emperor Vikramaditya (Chandragupta II) and in Emperor Akbar’s “Darbar”.(Source: Wikipedia)

The literal meaning of Navratan is nine gems. All of them are gems to me. Coming from an O levels background there were a lot of tussles and wrestles with studies, because the way of learning was very distinctive in means of wrote-learning and ‘rattafying’ (learn something by heart by continuously repeating it). However, I dealt with this dilemma with a little spirit inside me and a lot of encouragement from them.

These are my gems;

First of all:

Aquamarine.

Aquamarine.

Aquamarine; this is the stone to help you be in touch with your spiritual being. This stone is used in deep meditations. It has been called ‘Water of the Sea’. My seat-mate Zahra is like an Aquamarine. She always leaves me with a sense of spirituality. Her sense of humor leaves me awestricken and for her all-time good words we call her our senior citizen. I believe her novel-reading habit has made her a detective, knowing what ever is in our hearts. 😀

download (1)

Blue Opal.

Secondly:

The Blue Opal; Opals contain water, which makes them very sensitive to heat. They are soft and can be cracked or chipped easily. Opals should be stored in moist absorbent cotton. And, so should my soft-hearted Atyaba. She’s a strong one on the outside, but emotional and sentimental on the inside. Whatever we say, she stays the same but we can read it from her expressions when something is wrong. A true hard-worker she is, never letting anything make her hopes down. 😉

Then, comes;

Spinel.

Spinel.

Spinel; the name “spinel” is derived from the Greek word for spark, in reference to the fiery red color of spinels often used for gems. Hareem is just like a Spinel, she gives hope when I’ve lost it all; gets me out of that emotional trauma by acting like she is facing the same situation! She’s the stylish one in us. 😀

Then is;

Alexandrite.

Alexandrite.

Alexandrite; Alexandrite is a very rare stone. It was named after Alexander II of Russia as it was found on his Coming of Age Day. My friend Famiya is very much like an Alexandrite; a very rare person. At first, we used to call her ‘Famiya Bacche (child)’, now that I see her true form I realize she has changed colors like an Alexandrite, at last coming out of her shy-shell.

This brings me to;

Diamond.

Diamond.

Diamond; it is the hardest gemstone and one of the most valued. The diamond in our treasure box is Rabail. She is our very own ‘WOODERA’ (land-lord). The fact that we call her by this name is, she is very rough and tough- totally a tomboy by behavior. 😀 But, let me tell you, her intentions are very innocent. No matter how hard hearted she might look to you, if you know her truly you’ll know you are in a great company.

And, then;

Ruby.

Ruby.

Ruby; the ruby is considered to be the most powerful gem in the universe. I find Aamna the most mature one in our group. She has a good control over herself, unlike all others (this is no means of insulting anyone else). To have her, brings contentment and peace. It’s always good to take out the tension of the pressure of studies and she has always been there for that.

Next up is;

Sapphire.

Sapphire.

Sapphire; Sapphire is a Stone of Wisdom, a royal stone of learning, mental acuity and psychic activation, a seeker after spiritual truth. Najia is very similar to a Sapphire. She has a God-gift, that she is truly a genius. She is a very diligent student and a wise one. Having her around, always gives me motivation to study more and more.

imperial-topaz11

Topaz.

And;

Topaz; Topaz is one of the twelve breastplate stones of the High Priest referred to in the Book of Exodus. Thinking of Topaz, made me think of Wajiha. She is a very good friend to me and her silly jokes literally make us laugh our hearts out. At times, she underestimates her own potential but knowing her for almost a year I believe that she will face all the problems and tackle them being a strong Topaz.

Lastly;

Pearl.

Pearl.

Pearl; the pearl is the oldest known gem, and for many centuries it was considered the most valuable. Unlike all gems, the pearl is organic matter derived from a living creature – oysters and mollusks. I am their Pearl; every day, as I go to college and move to the crowd standing near the main gate, I see them smiling at me. Just like they are special to me, their smiles bringing me utter happiness, telling me, I am too.

Together, we give hope to one another, strengthen one another’s hopes and share it among us all. We help each other and take out new tactics and schemes to deal with studies and all other things that jump out of nowhere at us from time to time.

So likely,

Friends are true gems.

Ruqaiya Lokhand.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Navratan.

  1. Hussain Muslim Mithai Wala

    OooO Bhaiii …. Gud Gud Gud Gud Gud… back to back… looking forward for a hatrick l 👍👌

  2. ammar311

    splendid! so you are back, pleased to hear from you. I hope alls well.

  3. Juzer

    Waahh… Good going ruqaiii… Very well said 😊… And explained 😉looking forward for more of these stuff…!!

  4. Ruqaiya,
    Great to see your writing regularly. Friends are truly priceless, especially at the stage you are in…your post helped me recall all my school and university friends,..:)
    For a person who has good friends, the journey becomes easier!

    Keep writing.
    Proud of you!
    Maryam

    • Thank you so much Maryam Bhen, I hope I keep it going. And, when one can relate to another person through any way (may it be writing) , that is the best part.
      Thank you once again Bhen. 🙂
      Ruqaiya.

  5. Mustafa

    Very nicely written

  6. So sweet 🙂
    Friends are rare gems! So glad you value them dearly.

    Love,
    Xeynab

  7. New friends, eh? haven’t forgotten the old ones na though?:P
    haha, lovely post yaar. you are one woman who makes sure everyone feels special. im glad and poud that i am one of your close ones:) its a beautiful write-up, specially the eye-catching title “navratan”:)
    love,
    Maria

    • Of course, never forgotten the old ones yar :). rem the autograph we used to give ‘ make new friends but dont forget old, as new are silver and old is gold. ‘ 🙂
      I’m glad you like it :), and I’ll always treasure your friendship! 😉
      Yours,
      Ruqaiya.

I'd love to know what you think about this post!

Blog at WordPress.com.

