What do you hope to achieve in your lifetime?

We’ve all born up with, or at least I can say that I’ve born up with- fairy tales, a place where magic existed, and anything could be done by a swish swash of a wand; there was an outside world- so called Narnia and a school named Hogwarts. Life went on, and then I started to realize, that those places and things were mere imaginations, those were just illusions that are not the meaning to life, that’s not the core of it, there’s something else besides being a hero.

Like all children, I had my own fantasy world (of course); being the youngest of my siblings, I never had anything to worry about. I was always pampered and got whatever I wanted. I was not an outspoken person; I had such ideas and elements in my world that no one would believe I would think of. The fantasies made me feel that my life would be the same, but seriously, would it?

Humans are unique creatures, aren’t they? I don’t know if there’s one definition to them. Of all the creations of God, humans are entirely distinctive in features and habits. There are many theories of how humans evolved from other animals, but then, humans have this most insane thing in them, yes, I call it insane, because this particular thing has the ability to do anything, absolutely anything; it is the mind, yes. This is where I disagree to the fact that humans evolved from animals, if so, one aspect to that is; why would it be taken as an insult if one called us an animal?

The point is; that humans have the ability; to think, visualize, weigh the options according to their priorities and likes/dislikes, and act upon it. Animals do that too, but they can do it to a certain extent, they can’t go across their boundaries to do something mind blowing. It is the humans that can bring peace, and then, at the same time, mass destruction as well. It is the humans, who have the ability to go as far as the moon. It is the humans that can turn mere particles into sky scrapers.

I’m sure we all know what a human mind is capable of doing. This brings us to reason out; why humans are born different? Why do they have a particular race in life? What is the meaning to their live? Will they be particularly accounted for what they do? And so, the questions arise one after another.

A few years ago, I started to write on a blog with my school-mates. There, I wrote an essay (or you could call it an autobiography), which was; ‘it’s fun to be me’, and one of my teachers commented there, ‘Knowing oneself is a life-long process of discovery. It’s good to realize your own strengths and shortcomings. That is the key towards self-development.’ That’s what struck me; our process of experiencing life is the same thing. It works the same way, as we proceed to take steps in our life one after another, we come down to various perspectives, we understand ourselves in a better way and hence, the motive of our life.

The first revelation that came upon Prophet Mohammad PBUH was,

“Proclaim! In the name of thy Lord and Cherisher, Who created-
Created man, out of a (mere) clot of congealed blood;
Proclaim! And thy Lord is Most Bountiful,-
Who taught (the use of) the pen,-
Taught man that which he knew not.”

It was a clear order, to acquire knowledge and then, spread it to others. When we study or wade through the words of wisdom, at first, we accept what is brought to us and then, we ask of how and why this or that happened, which enables our mind to open up. When we talk in religious terms, there have been people who were astray and then as time passed they became religious, on the other hand, there have been people who were born in a religious environment but they found ‘their’ meaning of life something else. Every mind is given a certain time (age), to use his mind and contemplate with what he has observed in his time.

I’m not a scholar, and I do not have the sound reasons to argue about the theories of life evolving from a unicellular organism to a very well developed one, but with what I have grasped and what my mind tells me is that if humans are extra-ordinary, then there’s definitely a reason to it. I am, in the process of learning, everyday my mind perceives a new thing, and it makes me wonder and ponder.

It is my mind that instructs me, to dive-in, in the sea of knowledge and achieve the task of knowing of my existence here.

Ruqaiya Lokhand.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “What do you hope to achieve in your lifetime?

  1. Arwa Qusai

    Nicely written.. I like your concept

  2. Ibrahim shabbir

    Woww ruqaiyah good good though u dont consider yourself a scholar but always w ill be my teacher.:p

  3. AliAsgher Jamali

    Again a nice one!!

  4. Juzer

    A good expression of life.. Well done ruqai….. A weekly blog Refreshes the mind though.. 😉👍😊

  5. TAHA BHARMAL

    Ruqai your thought was awesome 🙂 like it yaar 😀

I'd love to know what you think about this post!

Blog at WordPress.com.

